I Am Weak If I Ask For Help

This distortion hurts you, not because it is true, but simply because you believe it to be true. In order for this to be true, it would have to apply to everyone asking for help. It would have to be true for everyone learning a new skill or dealing with something they know nothing about. Is a person weak because they have someone helping them learn a sport, play the guitar, cook a gourmet meal, treat their skin cancer, make it through basic training, invest their money, understand a math problem… (I could keep going but I think you get the point)?

In order to not be weak, everyone would have to be an expert in everything (otherwise they will probably ask for help at some point about something). Just because we have a body, doesn’t mean we are trained to treat our own bodies. Our mind is no different.

Asking for help takes strength. Avoidance is the greatest enemy to those struggling with depression and anxiety. The most effective treatments for depression and anxiety involve confronting their demons. That takes tremendous courage.

The good news is that confronting the demons and bad thoughts is something totally (and only) within the control of each individual. That doesn’t mean we are born with the knowledge of how to do this. It is a skill that has to be learned. Like any skill, it has to be taught by someone helping you to learn.

Take the first step to be truly strong – ask for help.

One thought on “I Am Weak If I Ask For Help

  1. I truly agree with what you said. I have Borderline Personality Disorder, but before I was diagnosed when I I perceived that asking for help was weakness Now I feel that asking for professional help for the symptoms I was experiencing was the greatest ting I could have ever done. My husband would probably agree with me because he is a much peaceful person since I sought out help.

    I really like your blog. I think I will have to adopt you as a second therapist. My blog is depressionandbpd.me please stop by.

Leave a Reply

